2017 Industry Awards!

The ‘Oscars of hair and Beauty’ the annual Industry Awards were held at the luxurious Cordis Hotel in Auckland on Sunday the 19th November. Over 250 hairdressers, barbers, beauty therapists and VIPs and media gathered to celebrate the pinnacle of our business industry awards. Our hosts for the evening were Laura Williams from Ktizo Hamilton & Adrian Barclay from Venom Invercargill.

And the big winners on the night were Buoy Salon & Spa from Wellington!

Buoy Salon & Spa were not only the overall winner of the Kitomba NZARH New Zealand Salon of the Year but they were also awarded L’Oreal Grand Salon of the Year, Excellence in Marketing, and Best New Entrant. Buoy stylist Chinney Yeap added to the list taking home Business Stylist of the Year.

2017 also marks 30 years since owner Derek Elvy set up his dream salon in Wellington. Referring to this milestone as ‘30 years of phenomenal’, Buoy’s success has truly been illustrated by their dominance at the Business Awards.

Phillippa Middleton, managing director of Buoy Salon and Spa, said “The awards night was an overwhelming experience. It was everything that we wished for and were trying to achieve for Derek and as we celebrate 30 years of business. We’re so incredibly proud and humbled to be the Kitomba NZARH New Zealand Salon of the Year”.

HITO apprentice Machaela Robbins set a new record for the awards, becoming the first beauty therapy apprentice ever to win the prestigious HITO Apprentice of the Year Award. Described as a “shining star” and an “inspiration” by the judges, this award tops off an already incredible year for this apprentice, who also won the Rising Star Award from internationally renowned skincare company DMK earlier in the year.

“It is a huge honour to be named HITO Apprentice of the Year,” Machaela said. “It’s amazing to be the first beauty therapist to be represented at the Industry Awards with HITO. I can’t wait to take this and grow from it, and inspire and encourage other beauty therapists to enter”.

Al Quinn, CEO of Kitomba Salon & Spa Software said “The Business Awards are all about building a culture of recognising and celebrating business excellence in the hair industry. We’re incredibly proud to be involved in this event and see our finalists and winners celebrating their achievements”.

Maureen Bowring, NZARH Chairperson went on to say: “By entering these prestigious awards, all entrants have shown their ongoing commitment to growth and excellence. Thank you to everyone who entered and attended the awards – your commitment to excellence makes our industries more professional and respected, and helps us all grow and move into the future.”

HITO CEO Kay Nelson said: “These awards celebrate the apprentices who bring fresh ideas and talent, the trainers and employers who constantly renew their skills and help their trainees succeed, and the businesses and stylists who grow their communities, the economy, and New Zealand by striving for the highest level of service and professionalism.”

The Kitomba NZARH Business Awards judges were Gary Marshall of L’Oréal, Seumus Cooney of Wella and Jacqui Victor owner of True Grit, and the HITO Next Generation Talent Awards judges were Bex Brent of Willis York, Nadine Gratton of Zabetti, and Ruth Irwin of Oscar and Co.

2017 Kitomba NZARH Business Awards winners

New Zealand Salon of the Year: Buoy Salon & Spa, Wellington

L’Oreal Grand Salon of the Year: Buoy Salon & Spa, Wellington

Boutique Salon of the Year: So You Hair, Wellington

Excellence in Marketing: Buoy Salon & Spa, Wellington

Employer of Choice: La Villa Hairdressing and Extensions, Wellington

Salon Business Coach Fastest Growing Salon: Ross and Co Hair Design, Hamilton

Wella Sustainable Salon of the Year: The Powder Room, Wellington

Business Stylist of the Year: Buoy Salon & Spa – Chinney Yeap, Wellington

Comfortel Best Salon Design: ASC Salon, Auckland

Best New Entrant: Buoy Salon & Spa, Wellington

HITO Next Generation Talent Awards winners

Apprentice of the Year: Machaela Robbins, Pamper Me, Thames

HITO Regional Apprentice of the Year

Auckland: Callum Senior, Zurri Hairdressing, Auckland

Waikato and Bay of Plenty: Machaela Robbins, Pamper Me, Thames

Manawatu & Hawke’s Bay: Gracie Nisbet, MPhosis Hair Studio, Hastings

Wellington and Wairarapa: Jade Scott, VIVO Hair and Beauty Tory Street, Wellington

North Canterbury and Nelson-Marlborough: Jared Kirk, Cuts @ Once, Nelson

Otago and South Canterbury: Jordan Carlton, Head Rush Hair Salon, Christchurch

HITO Trainer of the Year: Janine Simons, Mane Salon, Wellington

HITO Training Salon of the Year: Head Rush Hair Salon, Christchurch

Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship: Joseph Benfell, Biba, Auckland

HITO and the Jasmine McBeth family set up this scholarship to recognise Jasmine’s passion, motivation and dedication to the hairdressing industry before she passed away in 2007. The scholarship is offered annually to someone with the drive, passion, motivation and dedication to succeed in their apprenticeship and hairdressing career. This scholarship is only available to those in a hairdressing apprenticeship.


You may also like...

Contact Us