NZ Industry Awards – Our Best in Hair and Beauty!

New Zealand’s top hair and beauty professionals were recognised for their creativity, dedication and business skills at The Industry Awards on the 11th November, at the luxury Cordis Hotel in Auckland.

Industry Awards are hosted annually by the New Zealand Association of Registered Hairdressers (NZARH), Kitomba Salon and Spa Software and the New Zealand Hair and Beauty Industry Training Organisation (HITO).

Over 350 people attended the gala night ceremony, which included the NZARH creative photographic awards for the first time this year! With 36 award winners there was much to celebrate. In accepting their awards many shared their love of their industries and admiration for their peers.

Natasha King, from Freds in Invercargill was the overall winner of Editorial Stylist of the Year 2018.

Judge and four time winner of Australian Hairdresser of the Year Joey Scandizzo said he and the other judges were impressed by the calibre of this entrant. “We loved the combination of colour and editorial styling in the winning image. It’s great to see some of the amazing work coming out of New Zealand.”

Natasha King, who also won this award in 2017, said photographic competitions were a chance for hairdressers to further themselves and she urged everyone in the room to enter. “This is the work that happens when clients have gone home, when you’re playing with the crazy ideas in your head.”

New Zealand Hair Salon of the Year was presented to Fox Hair Blonde Bar, Hamilton.

This prestigious award celebrates a hair or barbering business that is at the top of its game and displays all-round strong performance. The judges congratulated the salon for taking advantage of a niche market.
“With a very clear strategy, a great understanding of its positioning and target market, and a well thought through expansion, the salon has experienced great results.”

Owner Dave Rogers said the salon set out to win the award 18 months ago. “You can have good marketing, location, social media, but at the end of the day it’s what happens on the floor that counts. You’re lucky in a business to have one superstar, but we have a team of them.”

Apprentice of the Year was Jade Scott, Vivo Hair and Beauty, Wellington.

The Apprentice of the Year award goes to the best “all-round” hairdressing, barbering, or beauty therapy apprentice. The apprentice must show commitment to their training and the desire to improve in all areas.

Judges said winner Jade Scott, chosen from four regional winners across New Zealand, showed a clear passion for the industry. “Her stunningly presented entry was full of aroha for hairdressing.”

Derek Elvy Visionary Award was taken out by Courtney Taylor, Buoy Salon and Spa, Wellington.

This award, introduced in 2018, celebrates the creative genius of the late Derek Elvy, founder of Buoy Salon. He worked closely with NZARH on the brief and overall concept of the award. Derek’s instructions were that entrants should create a photographic image that was beautiful but arresting, contemporary and directional and have a technical challenge to it.

Judge Lex Buckley said there were several outstanding entries. “Derek would have loved them!”
Michael Beel, Creative Director of Buoy Salon presented the award. “Congratulations to all the finalists. Each of you created something beautiful that made us think.”
New Zealand’s Beauty Salon of the Year is FaceTime Skin Clinic, Auckland.

This new award for 2018 celebrates a beauty business that is clearly excelling and displays all-round strong performance. The judges felt this business had a solid structure and plan that put them in an excellent position for future growth.

Owner Melissa Gladding said after only two years in business she had an incredible team behind her.

Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship winner was Jason Parker, Dragonfly Hair Design, Wellington.

This year marks the 10th anniversary of this scholarship, created in memory of Jasmine McBeth, who completed her hairdressing apprenticeship while undergoing cancer treatment. When she passed away in 2007, Jasmine’s parents Denise and Murray McBeth used the money she had saved towards setting up a business to create this scholarship, awarded to a hairdressing apprentice showing dedication, passion and commitment to their training and career.

The judges said this year’s winner had a detailed and realistic attitude to succeeding in the hairdressing industry. “This entrant has a plan. He knows where his career is going and how he plans to achieve each step.”

Winner Jason Parker said the scholarship, worth $3,750, would help him achieve his goals. “I want to work on fashion weeks and music awards, I want to travel the world!”


Industry Trainer of the Year: Natasha Bird, MPhosis Hair Studio, Hastings
Workplace of the Year: Diana Beaufort, Reds Hairdressing, Porirua, Wellington
Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship: Jason Parker, Dragonfly Hair Design, Wellington
Apprentice of the Year: Jade Scott, Vivo Hair and Beauty, Wellington
Regional Apprentices of the Year
Northern: Emily Southern, Turning Heads Hair Salon, Auckland
Northern Central: Courtney Hale, Lou Lou’s, Cambridge
Central: Jade Scott, Vivo Tory St, Wellington
Southern: Libby Fleck, True Grit, Christchurch


New Zealand Hair Salon of the Year: Fox Hair Blonde Bar, Hamilton
New Zealand Beauty Salon of the Year: FaceTime Skin Clinic, Auckland
Excellence in Marketing: La Villa Hairdressing and Extensions, Wellington
Sustainable Salon of the Year: Scout, Wellington
Best Salon Design: Mancraft Barbers,Taupo
Top Performing Stylist of the Year: Jasmin Ure, La Villa, Wellington


Editorial Stylist of the Year: Natasha King, Freds Hair and Beauty, Invercargill
Derek Elvy Visionary Award: Courtney Taylor, Buoy Salon and Spa, Wellington
Patrick Cameron Under 4 Years in the Industry:
Sophie Squires, Southern Institute of Technology, Invercargill
Patrick Cameron Over 4 Years in the Industry:
Caren Mackay, Do Hair, Invercargill

Editorial Stylist of the Year Regional Winners:

Auckland: Kylie Pointon, Glamour Hair Boutique, Auckland
Poverty Bay: Emma Smith, House of Hair, Gisborne
Bay of Plenty: Elyse Bowyer, Cremebrulee Hair and Beauty, Taupo
Hawke’s Bay: Kelly McKenzie, Pure Hair, Napier
Taranaki: Kerrie Jordan, KN Colab, New Plymouth
Waikato: Dave Rogers, Morph Hair, Hamilton
Manawatu: Amelia London, Spectra Hair and Beauty, Palmerston North
Wellington: Nichola Miti, Reds Hairdressing, Porirua, Wellington
Canterbury Westland: Amber King, True Grit, Christchurch
South Canterbury (joint winners): Debbie Tiddy, Fusion Hair Design, Oamaru
South Canterbury (joint winners): Rachel Batchelor, Wellcut and More, Timaru
Otago: Kylie Hayes, Moha, Dunedin
Southland: Natasha King, Freds Hair and Beauty, Invercargill

Editorial Stylist of the Year – Novice champion (joint winners):

Amrin Piuza, Servilles Academy, Auckland
Chloe O’Donnell, BHB Academy, Palmerston North

Editorial Stylist of the Year – Next Generation: Savanna Ferrel, Mane Salon, Wellington
Editorial Stylist of the Year – Le Male: Mana Dave, Blaze, Auckland
Editorial Stylist of the Year – Colour Concept: Kylie Hayes, Moha, Dunedin

You may also like...

Contact Us