2019 Hair Expo Awards Finalists Announced!

2019 Hair Expo awards: 115 lucky hairdressers from around Australia and New Zealand were delivered a VERY exciting and special surprise when Hair Expo Australia delivered the finalists of its prestigious Hair Expo Awards their ‘golden ticket’ AKA their finalist announcement!

All entrants were delivered a Charlie & The Chocolate Factory inspired package with the selected finalists also uncovering a ‘golden ticket’.

“We wanted to create something fun and experiential that all our Hair Expo Awards entrants could participate in this year. The response has been amazing and we are so thrilled for all our finalists! The standard of work that is produced for these awards is always incredible, but this year, Australian and New Zealand hairdressers have once again raised the bar with some exceptional creative collections among our 2019 entries”, said Event Director Cory Watson.

The finalists for Hair Expo Australian Hairdresser of the Year, the awards’ highest honour, are:

Pauline McCabe – Rock Paper Scissors Hair Studio
Kobi Bokshish – Intershape Hairstylists
Dee Parker Attwood – Wieselmann Salon
Uros Mikic – Kinky Curly Straight
Mary Alamine – Royals Hair
Dmitri Papas – Papas and Pace
Shane Henning – Noddys on King

New Zealand Hairdresser of the Year:

Jamiee Smith – Zaibatsu Hair Art
Ann Marie Young – Jingles Hair Design
Danny Pato – D&M Hair Design
Mikaela Campbell – Opulence
Kylie Hayes – Moha Hairdressing
Mike Hamel – GM Hair

Entries across 15 creative categories and four business categories were assessed by a panel of 11 international judges, 10 local judges, and five specialist business judges; together representing a global line-up of hairdressing talent, business experts and respected industry media. The judging panel was selected by Hair Expo Awards Head Judge and Awards Ambassador, Julie Piantadosi.

Hair Expo Awards 2019 Judging Panel

International judges
Trevor Sorbie MBE (UK)
Tabatha Coffey (USA)
Sally Brooks (UK)
Jamie Brooks (UK)
Peter Gray (USA)
Nick Irwin (UK)
Mark Leeson (UK)
Andreas Stavrou (UK)
Guy Tang (USA)
Michael Levine (Canada)
George Alderete (USA)
Laura Castelli (Italy; editor, Estetica magazine)

Local Judges
Emiliano Vitale (NSW)
Sandy Chong (NSW)
Caterina Di Biase (VIC)
Stelios Papas (QLD)
Justin Pace (QLD)
Brad Ngata (NSW)
Jules Tognini (QLD)
Danny Pato (NZ)
Bronwyn Illingworth (NZ)
Cameron Pine (NSW; editor, INSTYLE magazine)

Specialist business judges
Anthony Richardson, Qantas Host, Customer Service Experience
Faye Murray, Business Coach
Charles Marcus, International trainer, speaker and author
Enza Ferraro, ANZ Executive, Business Banking
Ruth Browne, Head of Department, Box Hill Hair and Beauty Institute
Among the finalists selected were six for Hair Expo Awards’ new category, Master Cutter of the Year. The category was introduced to celebrate the exceptional art of haircutting and received an encouraging amount of entries in its inaugural year.

“Our judges were blown away with the amount of creativity and technical skill from our entrants this year. It’s more evident than ever that hairdressers from Australia and New Zealand are among the best in the world and the Hair Expo Awards provide the perfect platform for them to showcase their incredible skill”, said Julie Piantadosi about this year’s awards.

The Hair Expo Awards are Australia and New Zealand’s highest honour in hairdressing and have been elevating industry talent for more than 30 years. The awards recognise excellence in creative vision, advanced technical skill, and business acumen – the complete representation of what exceptional hairdressing is.

The winners of the 2019 Hair Expo Awards will be announced at a lavish evening ceremony on Monday 10 June at Hair Expo Australia in Sydney. This night is the pinnacle event of Hair Expo’s three days of trend showcases, world-class education and hair show performances, leading to it being known as Australia’s ‘Festival of Hair’. And guess what, you can buy tickets to attend!

2019 Hair Expo Awards finalists

Creative categories

Apprentice Student of the Year
Bridie Meehan – Joey Scandizzo Salon
Tep Read – Papas and Pace
Georgia Freedman – Rokk Ebony
Harrison Sansom – Stevie English Hair
Ella Thompson – Dharma

Best Salon Design
KODA Cutters
Brady Hair Salon
House of Terre a Mer
Fatty Arbuckles Hair Artistry & Lather Lounge
Minogue Hairdressing
Glow Beauty Space
Zowie Evans Hairdressing
Tsiknaris Hair
Kinky Curly Straight
GM hair

Colour Technician of the Year
Justin Pace – Papas and Pace
Chris Tsiknaris – Tsiknaris hair
Kristie Kesic – Stelios Papas Toowong
Marilyn Guarino – BIBA
Stevie Corthine – Stevie English Hair

Creative Force of the Year
Zoe Wilde – Sir & Duchess Salon
Lyndall Vile – Head Over Heels
Steph Meyer – Steph Meyer & Co
Jacky Quon – De Stijl Hair
Elle Schoemaker – Stelios Papas Toowong
Nichola Lovell – Toni&Guy Brighton
Morgan Richards – Toni&Guy McMahons Point

Master Cutter of the Year
Kylie Hayes – Moha Hairdressing
Jessica Sutherland – Rokk Ebony
Dmitri Papas – Papas and Pace
Jules Tognini – lil’ off the top
Lyndal Salmon – BIBA
Sabrina Fetterkind – BIBA

Men’s Hairdresser / Barber of the Year
Christopher Byrne – Sloans of Lane Cove
Tom White – Rubi Hair
Harriett Tan – colour it & man it
Yuki Kano – Toni&Guy Australia
Hussein Naser – nasers haircuts
Fred LeMarche – Man Oh Man
Anthony Staltari – Barbery The Craft of a Barber
Tori Gill – Paragon Studio

New South Wales / Australian Capital Territory Hairdresser of the Year
Zoe Wilde – Sir & Duchess Salon
Idy Duong – Sloans of Lane Cove
Nathan Cherrington – Salon Zephyr
Paula Hibbard – Paula Hibbard
Travis Bandiera – Royals Hair
Carolyn Gahan – Seamless1

Queensland Hairdresser of the Year
Dimitri Tsiknaris – Tsiknaris Hair
Ryan King – Togninis
Rebecca Hubbard – Dextress Hair
Elle Schoemaker – Stelios Papas Toowong

Salon Team of the Year
Jingles Hair Design
Stelios Papas Toowong
Axis Hairdressing
Barbery the Craft of a Barber
UVA Salon
Papas and Pace
Moha Hairdressing
Toni&Guy McMahons Point
Stevie English Hair

South Australian / Tasmanian Hairdresser of the Year
Tracy Doak – De Stijl
Mathew Johnson – MJ by Mat Johnson
Sam James – Obre North Adelaide
Johnny Georgiou – Barbery the Craft of a Barber
Massimo Tirimacco – Zohair

Session Stylist of the Year
Richard Kavanagh – DLM
Sarah Laidlaw – Sarah Laidlaw @ Union Management
Daren Borthwick – The Artist Group

Victorian Hairdresser of the Year
Nikki Porter – Rubi Hair Malvern
Benjamin Martin – Salon XVI
Chung-Yang Su – Rokk Ebony
Christina Tatasciore – Flipped Hair
Lyndal Salmon – BIBA

West Australian / Northern Territory Hairdresser of the Year
Hayley Keep – Earth Wind Fire Hair
Jude McEwen – Toni&Guy Perth Central
Jo Banks – HairArt
Michael O’Dowd – O’Dowd Christie
Timothy Pascoe – Head Studio

Business categories

Education Business of the Year
MIG Training
Barbery the Craft of a Barber
Box Hill Institute – Hairdressing
DCI Education
Sharon Blain Education

Educator of the Year
Jules Tognini – lil’ off the top
Dario Cotroneo – DCI Education
Bernadette Beswick – Beswick Education Services
Lauren McCowan – Lauren McCowan
Katy Reeve – Toni&Guy

Industry Business Performance of the Year
Mocha Publishing
Excellent Edges
MacLeod Education
Hair Aid

Salon Business of the Year
Rubi Hair Richmond
Circles of Hair
Tyler Reid Hair
Royals Hair
Papas and Pace
Huntress Hair Religion

You may also like...

Contact Us