2021 Industry Awards Announced!

Milly Briant Editorial Stylist of the Year 2021 Industry Awards

2021 Industry Awards Announced: After the forced cancellation twice of the gala event, at the Cordis Hotel in Auckland, the Industry Awards were finally held virtually, and streamed live via the Industry Awards Facebook page on Sunday 20th February. Our virtual hosts were Kyra Sproule and Izzy Castle, who did a fabulous job helping us all celebrate the incredible talent that exists in New Zealand’s hair, beauty and barbering industries. After welcoming speeches from Kay Nelson HITO,  Niq James Hair & Barber NZ and Mike Henton from Kitomba Spa and Software, the 2021 Industry Awards were underway!

First up were the Training Awards Judges being:
Mana Dave – Blaze, Kim Ryan – Advanced Dermacare, 
Rebecca Brent- Willis York, Katrina Herbert – The Capital Barber.

And the winners were:
Industry Trainer of the Year:Janine Simons from Mane Salon
Industry Assessor of the Year:  Allison Murray-Travers from Hair Technique
Workplace of the Year:  Zibido Hair
Jasmine McBeth Memorial Scholarship:  Hannah Burton from Hair by the Sea
Beauty Therapy Apprentice of the Year:   Emma Peterson from Skin & Beaute
Barbering Apprentice of the Year: Antonio Arana from Maloney’s Barbershop
Hairdressing Apprentice of the Year: Tayla Corban from Cremebrulee Hair and Beauty

Then it was on to the Business Awards Judged by:
Audrey Hill – Kerastase,
Malcolm Gibbons, Salon Business Coach,
Seumus Cooney – Wella Professionals

And the winners were: 
Excellence in Marketing: Mane Salon Wellington
Best Salon design: Meiko
Finalists: Kirkwood Barbers, Ra Hair And Beauty, Alchemy + 1, Meiko
Sustainable Salon of the Year (sponsored by Wella): ClipJoint Hairdressing
Top Performing Stylist of the Year: Krystle Anderson – Dream Hair
Finalists: Kiri Roberts – Mane Salon, Mathias Te Moananui – Buoy Salon & Spa,

Then on to the much anticipated Barbering Awards:
Where our Judges were: Rex Silver, Lance Liufau, Jesse Lima

Barber Hairt Instagram Challenge: 
Next generation: Whenua Patuwai – Motown Barbers
Senior: Theo Tupaea – Cut Throat Brothers
Editorial Barber of the Year:
Hot Shot New Talent: James  Harrington – The Barber Lounge
Next generation: Tee Tupara – Mancraft Barbers

Patrick Cameron Instagram Challenge:
All entries were judged by Patrick Cameron who spoke to us live from Barbados. 
1st Place: Jacqui Broughton Jax Hair Studio
2nd Place: Sandy Turner – Shine Hairstylists
3rd Place: Vanessa White –  Vision Hair & Beauty
Next Generation:
1st Place: Autumn Hoskyn – Jax Ensomme
2nd Place: Tara-Marie Butters – Jax Hair Studio
3rd Place: Ashleigh Mullacrane – House Of Hair

The winner gets to spend a day with Patrick in Taranaki and receive a one on one training session and then enjoy a sumptuous lunch at his beautiful oceanside home.

Creative Awards Editorial Stylist of the Year Judges: Sally Brooks,
Carl Keely, Richard Kavanagh, Lex Buckley

Winners announced:
Hot Shot New Talent (sponsored by ghd): Keziah Rowling – Zibido
Next Generation ( sponsored by Lush Foils): Danielle Connew – Vision Hair And Beauty
Colour Concept: Kylie Hayes – Moha Hairdressing
Cover Shot: Milly Briant – Rodney Wayne Newmarket
Derek Elvy Award: Wei Jiang Buoy Salon & Spa

NZ Beauty salon of the Year: Skin and Beaute
Finalists: Puravida, Skin and Beaute

NZ Hair Salon of the Year (sponsored by L’Oréal Professionnel): Dream Hair
Finalists: Alchemy  + 1, Buoy Salon & Spa, Dream Hair, Loft Hair, Protégé Hairdressing

Editorial Barber of the Year: Tee Tupara – Mancraft Barbers
Editorial Stylist of the Year: Milly Briant – Rodney Wayne Newmarket