NZARH Supreme Awards in Hamilton!

The New Zealand hairdressing Industry gathered in Hamilton on Sunday the 8th of October to celebrate skills from across the country at the NZARH Supreme Awards. Live cutting and styling events (including new barbering category – the Ray Astwood Award) and one colour presentation event took place during the day and competitors and models alike celebrated the results during the subsequent cocktail function and awards dinner.

The Atrium was the venue for the biennial Supreme Awards which mark the culmination of 14 regional competitions throughout NZ earlier this year where regional ‘Supreme Team’ winners compete against each other for the coveted title of Hair Stylist of the Year 2017. Also presented on the night were finalists and winners of two photographic competitions: Patrick Cameron Instagram Challenge and Editorial Stylist of the Year 2017.

Rhea Cameron, Sliver Haircutters Otago was the overall winner ‘Next Generation’ Hairstylist Of The Year while Mandy Taylor from Zaibatsu Hair Art Dunedin took out the overall winner ‘Senior’ Hairstylist Of The Year! Winners received over twelve-thousand dollars in prize money. Otago region was named the Supreme Team of the Year!

Judges for the day were Kylie Hayes, Bethany-Paige Woods, Melanie Redington, Kerrie Jordan, and were ably assisted by stewards Terry Johns and Sue Darvill-Jackson. Foreperson judge Kylie Hayes being no stranger to the competition scene went on to win Platinum at the International Wella Trend Vision a week later in London! She remarked that the calibre of work shown at the Supreme Awards would not be out of place in the international competition arena!

Patrick Cameron sent through a special video message from his home in Spain prior to the announcement of the Patrick Cameron Instagram Challenge winners with the over five years winner being Annabel Joiner from Fusion Hair in Oamaru and under five years stylist Angela Enoka from Lifestyle Hair in Paraparaumu.

Natasha King from Fred and Ginger’s salon in Invercargill was named Editorial Stylist of the Year. Her image will be the face of the NZARH for all their promotional material over the next 12 months. Natasha, who just this year won the coveted ‘People’s Choice’ award at Hair Expo in Sydney, is championing the industry with NZARH, their aim being to increase business and professional standards with a movement to gain regulation for the hairdressing industry by 2025 to ensure safe work practices for staff and clients alike.

The contributions of immediate past president of the NZARH, Lynnette Karam-Whalley was celebrated during the awards evening – Lynnette has been in the industry for over 40 years and stepped down from her role as president in April this year. John Klinkhamer was also recognised for his ongoing support of NZARH competitions for over 35 years.

Niq James, NZARH Competitions Committee Chairperson, ensured that the whole event ran smoothly. He hopes to make the Supreme Awards more accessible to all by holding future events in other regions.

NZARH would like to thank all their sponsors: HITO, L’Oreal Professionnel, KMS, Wella Professionals, ghd, Schwarzkopf, Matrix, Redken, Fudge and NZARH Partners; Images Magazine, TIB Insurance Brokers, and Salon Business Coach.

You may also like...

Contact Us